Author Topic: Forum Cleanup?  (Read 226 times)

Offline penciltea

• View Profile
Forum Cleanup?
« on: October 17, 2014, 08:18:25 AM »
Hey there!

For those that don't know me (I'm going to assume that everyone doesn't since I admittedly don't know you guys at all), my name is Penciltea. I recently have started to help out on updating the Renewal Wiki and I hope to help out with it as best as I can. I know I'm new to iRO Wiki and all, so please bear with me if something I say has been discussed before, or if anything I say seems out of line, or anything like that. I'm going to try to be as polite as I can be and nothing I'm going to say is directed at any one particular individual or anything like that. I also do apologize in advance for my text-wall tendencies. I try to be as concise as I can.

I've noticed... a lot of the threads on the site are very outdated, especially in this particular subforum. I'd been poking around while waiting for my account to be activated, and I (very easily) stumbled upon threads where users complained/griefed/etc. about others. The actual iRO Wiki seemed very friendly and there didn't seem to be much problem there, so I was both confused and alarmed. Had I unknowingly stumbled into a place where everyone was hostile or overly sensitive? Was this a dying group of editors? I didn't entirely understand. And then I quickly looked at the dates of the posts. They were from easily 5 months ago and more, and a lot of them were easily over a year ago. I let out a sigh of relief because it seemed everything had been resolved.

My point is this: yes, I understand this particular subforum is supposed to discuss issues with the staff, the forums, and all that wonderful stuff. It's good to be able to give users a place to vent their frustrations. But at the same time, the stuff I had glossed over was, honestly, stuff I really didn't need to be reading, especially as a new user.